top of page

2020 Update, new ride

Hey everyone, hope everybody's doing fine with this current COVID 19 Pandemic that this world is experiencing. First of all apologies for missing a lot of articles making you guys not updated on what's going on with my cycling life, secondly I got a new bike!

Well during lockdown, i have thought of going full carbon roadie but due to my weight and riding style that might not be a good idea, and so with the help of a few buddies of mine we went Titanium instead. Yeah, titanium...smh

There are only a few resellers or distributors for these types of frame and honestly owning one might be expensive. Frankly speaking, i had to "dispatch" a few items including 6 vintage watches and some carbon wheelset just to fund this project. Well anyways, it's already done and here are some of the pics of the frame which I got from a shady reseller I met in Carousell.ph.

I was lucky enough that the fork and seatpost was included in the box (which he didn't know) thou some sold them separately. After careful inspection the item seems legit so we got it not knowing that the headset that came with it does not fit. Apparently the standard size of a normal headset was approx. 1" and the TI frame's head tube diameter needs a 44mm size headset to fit. Thanks to Verns for recommending Quiapo bike outlets since all major bike shops here in QC, Ortigas or Makati doesn't have.

Moved most of the accessories from my old frame and here's the finish product. It took quite a while to sink in now that I am using a TI bike since all I desire was to have a strong sturdy ride which I can use for long rides or racing.

Initial ride feel - A little bit comfy and some kind of shock absorbing powers which I can't explain. And from what I have researched titanium is highly resistant to corrosion, highly durable, and will stand up to some pretty serious abuse. TI has high tensile strength, which gives it the high fatigue strength that provides long-term durability. Let's hope it's true.

Well I have been riding this one out during this MECQ period and hoping for more road adventures. Currently, i have 3 wheelset which I am switching in between - Aksium, Tropix & CNC.

Stay safe everyone, practice social distancing and wear your mask! Hopefully this will be over soon, we can do it people we just need a little discipline in ourselves.

Talk to you again soon!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page