top of page

Clark Global City Duathlon

I don't know why I love Clark Pampanga ... but I do know I love it here. After completing a very very horrible duathlon race last Feb 17 at the Pilipinas duathlon leg 1 I really had doubts if I could pull off another good race for myself taking into consideration that I've been slacking on training esp the run part, routinary training, excessive walking & not exerting enough effort to perform. These were the demons that surround me mentally through the years of joining endurance races. But it's time for a change!

Guys, welcome to the Clark Global City Duathlon ... the only duathlon race (aside from Powerman) where it gave participants the chance to ride a closed-down section of the Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway (SCTEX) . One of many challenging cycling routes given the chance.


Gunstart for the full category was exactly 6am while the Sprint leg starts at 7am. I was on the Sprint category. 7am is almost not a happy time since at that early, the sun is up and already warming the open place. Having not been able to run for the last few months my legs have been feeling really fresh but I need to control myself else I would end up tiring myself early on the race. Though what I joined was the sprint category, I have to take into consideration the grueling bike route ahead of me... Thankfully there are 2 hydration stations on the run route - 1 for SIP water & the Pocari tent!



The bike route will start at the SCTEX South exit towards Floridablanca (16 kms) before making a U-turn and going back to Clark South for the final run part. Once for the short and repeat the route for the full category. There's was only 1 hydration station along the bike course offering plenty of cold SIP water.


Exiting transition area... Thanks Papa Al for the pic!


SCTEX is a wide open stretch of road, so crosswinds are ever-present, and it’s tough to ascertain where exactly it’s coming from. It feels like you are enveloped in a headwind wherever you go. Because the scenery is so flat and each kilometer that passes by looks the same, it’s very easy to get discouraged and bored. If you are tired at this point, you will start to blame the heat and keep on checking if you have a flat tire or not. So part of the training is mental will and endurance.

I was so stupid not to buy some chocolate bars from Ministop besides the hotel i'm staying because I didn't bring any nutrition whatsoever. Why? I found out that the place I'm staying have rats! These critters chewed up most of the contents of my gels, tailwind powder and salt sticks. Somehow I gotta take care of that problem when I get home. Anyways, I only brought water all throughout the race. It was hard esp the times you need to get some sugar to fend off the bonk. Yes there were times I felt bonk and have to get off the bike to stretch a little ... this was going to be a long ass ride.

During the first half of the route, all the downhill stretches help you maintain enough momentum to make short(er) work of the climbs that follow. Every bit of preserved momentum helps, and speeds will drop from 40-50 km/h to a manageable 23-25 uphill. Do not attempt to do aero unless you are capable off else you will fall off due to the speed and heavy winds.


Though I have installed aero bars I only used them on the route going back where speed is not deadly fast and maintaining an aerodynamic position is helpful for conserving energy and relaxing as well almost rolling. This was the first time I did such in SCTEX and was very happy about it!



The last run part was not easy as I already feel a short cramping pain on the thigh... but what is done is done! I have survived and finished the race!


A Picture of contentment. Thank you SCTEX, tangina pinahirapan mo ulit kami but I lav it!

Thanks to my team mates - Vernier Umali aka AtleTipid, JP Mendoza & Boss OJ Domingo! Mabuhay Team Smart!

Pinaghirapang Medal!

Very happy with my time on the ride:

Bike King Final Race Results:

Though on my Suunto, the total time I finished was 2:41hrs. Oh well, it is what it is! Yes, tinyaga ko pumindot ng pumindot sa watch kada run bike run category.

Shout out to Eurotel Angeles for the fantastic stay! One of the closest 2-star hotels near the race venue (Clark Global City). You just need to ride your bike crossing Jollibee and turning left towards M. Roxas Highway. Approximately 3.5kms to Clark Medical City.

'till the next ride!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page