top of page

Audax Fail

Well what can I say...

It was one of those days you wish it didn't happen but you're happy at least you did it somehow. That's how I felt the day after my audax failure at Subic. I believe that I was prepared for the long ride considering our training & logistics but it seems my worst enemy got the best of me in the endgame --> CRAMPS.

I was doing fine and great on our first segment maintaining an average of 20 to 25kph on the flats since it was dark and the weather sa super cool. Unfortunately a huge ass Victory Liner bus squeezed thru the small road and almost side swiped me out of the lane, this prompt me to maneuver my bike out and back into the road. That scared the shit out of me. These incidents were very rampant on open highways & I didn't imagine it would happen to me.

Our first 52kms was about 2:35hrs and first 104kms was barely 5mins before 6 hours. I was already experiencing cramps by km75 but kept holding on to it until I reach 157km checkpoint. It wasn't hard for me to do the climbs since we have already recon'd this earlier but everything was so fucked up that this stupid cramps started from my sides, then to my outer thighs, to my toes then to my fingers up until my triceps. I stopped at 170kms. No drama. Just can't pedal anymore. I knew the cramp will go away if I rest a while but I am also concerned that my time is almost about to expire before I reach the final checkpoint.

Closed my eyes and took my last deep deep sigh... it was over. At that time, I do not know what I am going to do or say. It just happened. Game over for me. I am sorry.

In a nutshell, everything didn't go well. Hotel we stayed was crappy & got a hard bed so it was not comfortable for us to sleep in. We also lack some sort of support group who's main job is to push people like us to finish the game. I guess this closes my cycling chapter for 2018. Will I ever do it again? I am not sure at this time.

2019 is duathlon season again, gotta prepare for short distance rides and more running.

Ride safe everyone.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page