top of page

Replacing Garmin 910xt Front Casing

First of all, apologies for not saving this exercise in video format since I was so excited to replace the housing of my broken Garmin 910xt Multisport watch, but it so happened that I remembered to document each step by mere photocam. So sorry :(

Anyways, here's an initial photo of my Garmin 910 with holes in the power button and enter button. These came about maybe due to wear and tear but it is still usable unless you want to corrode the inside components when running or cycling under the rain or simply sweat-spiration.


I called up Garmin Support and ask how much & how long it will take to have this repaired. They replied that it will take 7-8 weeks turn around time since they will be sending it to Taiwan for replacement rather than repair (Same scenario as during the Palm Pilot era circa '2008) and it will cost around Php7,500.00 or roughly $143.00. Now I am NOT about to spend 7k on an old model watch, and had thought of selling it super cheap or just keeping it until it rots.


Luckily a friend (M.Chico) hooked me up with an affordable Garmin 910xt head unit with smooth casing for a friendly price. Only a few local online sellers have the parts & I stll can't find it also in Ebay! WTF??! But thanks Mark you da man!

Once I got home, I immediately took out my tools and started to tinker with the thing. The tools that you will be using would be a T4 or a T5 star screw, small sharp knife, microfiber cloth and tweezers. Honestly I do not know what and how to do this since there were no photo or video instructions in the web nor any tutorial assembly & disassembly techniques. So this will be a trial & error thing which I am praying I do not destroy the new casing since it is not separate but still locked in tact. (Previously I work for a mobile service center for years so I definitely have a 'lil bit of skillset & T screws all over my locker)


I would recommend for you to have lots of patience if ever you are in the same situation as I am. So let's begin:


1. You must have a clean workplace, don't be like me. Prepare your new replacement parts upfront & start removing the straps.


2. Use the T4 or T5 tools to "unscrew" the 4 screws

3. Use the edge of a small sharp knife or swiss knife to gently twist to open the casing on this exact spot below. Be careful using the knife since it might damage the edge of the casing. You might slice off some of the rubber compound and everything would be worthless. Once you twisted this open, use your fingers to gently and slowly pull the back cover apart. It might be challenging since the sides underneath the covers are made of rubber to protect the device from water seeping in.

4. Once you have opened the back cover, gently unlock the flex flim of the battery attached to the mother board. You'll get the picture once you open it. Remember, you only need to replace the top cover and not the bottom part with the battery so this will be quick and easy.

5. Gently remove the LCD from the old damaged front cover and move it to the new one. You must also perform the same operation on the other casing to save time.


6. Use the micro fiber cloth and wipe all the dirt from the LCD and the new casing before you lock it in. Do not forget to re-attach the Flex film of the LCD to the board eh.

7. Use the T4 or T5 screw and lock it all again.

8. Put back the straps again carefully, you do not want to loose one tiny part.

9. Test your device if it works. i.e. Charging, GPS, all the buttons

When the data fields appear on any Garmin device, that means you are now connected via GPS.

Done! GPS worked which means I didn't fucked up this time. Don't forget to check everything before finishing. This whole exercise took me at least 30 mins to complete. Well that concludes this blog, this might be the first documented blog for Garmin 910xt replacement casing ha! Thanks everyone for taking time to read and 'till the next adventure Amigos!

Ride Safe!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page