top of page

DNF Ride test fail: China Solid Tires

Thank God the typhoon (Ompong) left late Saturday afternoon! My thoughts & prayers go out to those who were hit by the typhoon... Stay safe guys.

Sunday-- I took the time to test out my newly purchased China Solid tire on a long ride inside Camp Aguinaldo. As usual as my normal saturday rides, started out early while everybody is still sleeping :)

Took me a while to get accustomed to the rolling resistance since it was brand new. My regular route was 7kms one loop inside the Camp... about the 3rd round I slowly feel my thighs burning real fast... but i shrugged it off and move on. It is best to do loops at the same time listening to good music. Music somehow makes training easier.

Time passed and I am now on my 5th, honestly I feel so tired from pedaling more than freewheeling (get what I mean?). I can really feel the resistance building and something in my thigh wasn't right. Luckily my friend gave me a "Turon" or a banana snack so I can have a small break and rest at the same time. Guess what, it didnt' help. But the turon was absolutely amazing ha!

Well guess what? Me cramped out!

at my 7th loop. Felt miserable and tired. As if all my energy have been zapped out of me. Is this due to the new tires? or training too much week after week? I was literally struggling to complete the 7th loop and was pedaling slowly. It felt awful.

Imagine how slow is 13km/h !?

Imagine averaging 13km/h?! this really sucks. I still can remember this feeling of cramping which means I am NOT taking the necessary nutrition that I need to endure long rides. i.e. Salt Sticks & Electrolyte drinks.

Will give it a rest for the next weekend and come back again to continue testing the china tires. As of the moment, I have ridden 57kms on the new tires hoping they may not punish me more on my next ride.

Safe ride everyone!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page